Adil MaliaGuest Author

Happy ‘Aristotle’ Primer – Confused Digital Practitioners!

By | Adil Malia |

Happiness begins with achievement of physical needs that stimulate positive bliss but ultimately ends up only upon fulfillment of deeper spiritual longings.

Aristotle spoke of Happiness at 4 levels – Laetus, Felix, Beatitudo & Sublime Beatitudo

Laetus , the level at which achieving material objects gave happiness…buying a swank car, buying a tony house, buying high-end Louis Vuitton/ Armani accessories. Felix – where in competitive arena, emerging superior in comparison with peers brought happiness – better looker, faster runner, higher marks matter. Having achieved those successes, helping others by doing meaningful things for them, releases happiness. Fulfilling Social responsibilities drives happiness – (Rotary Club, Lions’ Club members experience these higher order happiness). That was Beatitudo. Sublime Beatitudo is when fulfilling deeper spiritual needs along with a balance of happiness derived from a man’s pursuit of the other 3 shallower levels of happiness became critical and thus brought real happiness to the doer.

Surprising. Aristotle and the Stoics propounded these ‘Happiness’ percepts in 384 – 322 BC. Thousands of years ago. People still in digital times are enchanted and exploring what happiness means. Are we missing something …. ???

Republished with permission and originally published at

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button