Hr Library

Personality according to signs of the Hindu horoscope

By | Derek Drew

Jyotish is what the Hindu or Vedic horoscope is called in India and stands out for being deeply rooted in its culture and being studied at its universities.

History of the Hindu horoscope

The first documented references to the Hindu horoscope are found in the ancient religious texts of this culture, the so-called Vedas, dating back to 1500 BC. Hence it is also known as Vedic astrology or Jyotish from the Sanskrit “Body of light, celestial.”

The influence of Western astrology is evident between 150 BC and 140 AD, probably through the texts of the Greek astronomer, geographer and mathematician Hipparchus (190 BC -120 BC).

Much of the ancient astronomical knowledge of this culture was lost in the Muslim invasion of 664 AD. Currently the pure Hindu horoscope is based on the classical astrology of medieval compilations, especially the Kalyāṇavarman texts. Even the popular Pitra Dosh Remedies are based on the texts.

Characteristics of the Hindu horoscope

The Hindu or Jyotish horoscope is also made up of 12 signs of the zodiac, but despite the aforementioned influences of the western horoscope, they have a lag due to the equinoctial precession.

It is also a sidereal astrology, that is, the position of the planets is observed in correspondence with the constellations, producing a mismatch in the signs of the zodiac with the Westerners. The Hindu horoscope is divided into three main branches, with different functions in the study and interpretation of the stars:

The Siddantas: Study the astronomical characteristics of the celestial bodies.

The Samhitas: Also called worldly astrology, studies and predicts macro-issues such as atmospheric phenomena, natural catastrophes, economic movements, wars, epidemics, etc.

The Phalitha Jyothisha: This is the Hindu astrology of the most personal predictions of horoscopes according to the birth chart of each individual.

Personality according to signs of the Hindu horoscope

  • Kumbha Kethu (January 21 – February 19): According to the Hindu horoscope, those born under this sign are hardworking, courageous, they prefer to be with family than with friends.
  • Meena Galika (February 20 – March 20): The Hindu zodiac says that those belonging to this sign are very intuitive, sensitive and gifted for art.
  • Mesha Angaraka (March 21 – April 20): According to the Vedic horoscope, the natives of this sign are passionate, dynamic, sincere, sometimes excessively dominant, even arrogant.
  • Vrishaska Surkra (April 21 – May 20): According to Jyotish, those born on this date are kind, ambitious, they have an iron will in the face of any obstacle.
  • Mithuna Budha (May 21 – June 22): This Vedic zodiac sign is an entrepreneur, a friend of starting projects and seeking challenges.
  • Kataka Chandra (June 23 – July 22): The Yotish say of this sign that they are sentimental, kind, distrustful, vulnerable, in their friends they seek security and in their partner a father or a mother to protect them.
  • Simaha Ravi (July 23 – August 22): Born leader, charismatic, practical and imaginative and, although not apparent, creative.
  • Kanta Budha (August 23 – September 23): They are bright-minded, very social, they love to have many friends, fun, playful.
  • Thula Sukra (September 24 – October 23): According to the Hindu horoscope this is the sign of virtue and great souls tend to seek the greater good for others before the personal.
  • Vrischica Angaraka (October 24 – November 22): Demanding with themselves, they like to stand out, they are extravagant, provocative, creative and self-centered.
  • Dhanus-Brishaspati (November 23 – December 22): Witty, charming, charismatic, he seeks success in everything he undertakes.
  • Makara Sani (December 23 – January 20): They are demanding, in general, delivered in their relationships, strict, generous, good administrators, even stingy.
  • Curiosities of the Hindu horoscope

In 2000 the University Scholarship Commission and the Ministry of Human Resources Development of the Government of India decided to implement “Jyotir Vigyan” or “Vedic astrology” as a discipline of study in Indian universities despite widespread protests from the Indian scientific community and Indian scientists abroad.

Are you interested in Indian astrology? We advise you to consult the Best Astrologer in Mumbai.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button